Top Tips For The Big Bash League In 2022


Coming up soon is the Big Bash League event which begins on the 13th of December. There are a total of 8 teams and of these, there are 4 teams that have a viable chance to be the ultimate champions. In case you don’t know anything about the Big Bash League, it is the twelfth occurrence of the cricket competition that began back in 2011. It is only 20 overs, compared to the usual 50 overs that make up the cricket one-day matches. This is a relatively quick and exciting version of the game and has seen its popularity rise throughout the years. The teams in this list are the forerunners for championship glory.

Melbourne Stars

Coached by veteran former world-class player David Hussey, the Melbourne Stars are yet to win a championship but have all the hallmarks of doing so. Eight times they have made the finals and the first game of this season is against Sydney Thunder, so they will want to make a mark coming out of the gate. The Thunder are not a team to be reckoned with so the Stars will have to give it their all to come out with a win and work toward securing a championship. Will this be the year for them? Only time will tell, but barring any injuries or any other unforeseen issues, this could be the tournament where they make history for their team. 

Sydney Thunder

As written above, the first game of the tournament is the Melbourne Stars versus the Sydney Thunder. They have already won the tournament once in the 2015-2016 series and are hungry to secure a championship again. The team has had its ups and downs over the years with four Wooden Spoons and a choppy finals history. Luckily, they have former first-class cricketer Trevor Bayliss as head coach and veteran world-class player David Warner as part of the squad. And since the first game is Melbourne versus Sydney, tensions are sure to be high and will make for a great show. The Big Bash League betting odds will be a major point of conversation for most BBL fans and while the first game is up for grabs between the two teams, they are playing at Manuka Oval which is in Canberra, so it may give the Thunder a slight edge.

Hobart Hurricanes

Matthew Wade is heading the team this season, definitely hoping to gain a notch on their belt by winning the championship. They haven’t won one yet but have come close, being runners-up twice and making the finals six times. It’s time for these boys to show what they have and prove to the naysayers that they have what it takes. Hopefully, coach Adam Griffiths has been guiding the team to be able to make this happen. Their first game is against the Melbourne Stars, so depending on how they go against Sydney Thunder, the Hurricanes might be able to start their tournament campaign with a decisive victory.

Perth Scorchers 

The Scorchers are the most successful of the BBL teams thus far with 4 titles including the 2021-2022 season. They will be looking to keep this up throughout the summer and with Ashton Turner at the helm, it is a likely chance they will be able to do it. It will come down to their tenacity and the ability to fight off the other teams that are keen for a win.