Mexico to Play at Bank of America Stadium This Year


The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) announced that top-ranked Mexico is the seeded team in Group A that will play as part of a doubleheader at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina, on Sunday, June 23, 2019, as part of the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup—the 15th edition of the confederation’s continental championship.

“We’re happy to welcome Mexico back to Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte for the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup,” says CRVA CEO Tom Murray. “We anticipate the fan-favorite team will draw visitors from near and far, resulting in additional visitor spending that is important to our overall $7 billion visitor economy.”

This summer’s tournament will be the first to feature an expanded version, with 16 countries vying for continental glory in what is set to be the largest Gold Cup in history. For more information on the qualification process to the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup or to purchase tickets, click here. The seeded nations, the four highest ranked nations based on the Concacaf Ranking Index for September 2018—in alphabetical order: Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico and the United States—and their respective groups, will play as follows:

Group A – Mexico
June 15: Rose Bowl, Pasadena, CA
June 19: Broncos Stadium at Mile High, Denver, CO
June 23: Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte, NC

Group B – Costa Rica
June 16: Non-US venue to be determined
June 20: Toyota Stadium, Frisco, TX
June 24: Red Bull Arena, Harrison, NJ

Group C – Honduras
June 17: Non-US venue to be determined
June 21: BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston, TX
June 25: Banc of California Stadium, Los Angeles, CA

Group D – United States 
June 18: Allianz Field, Minnesota, MN
June 22: FirstEnergy Stadium, Cleveland, OH
June 26: Children’s Mercy Park, Kansas City, KS

Concacaf also announced the dates and venues for the quarterfinal and semifinal rounds of the Gold Cup. Houston, Philadelphia, Phoenix, and Nashville join Chicago in hosting the decisive knock out round of the 2019 Gold Cup, after it was announced in late September that Soldier Field will host the Final, on Sunday, July 7.

Quarterfinals (Doubleheaders)
June 29: NRG Stadium, Houston, TX (QF1: 2A v 1C & QF2: 1A v 2C)*
June 30: Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia, PA (QF3: 2B v 1D & QF4: 1B v 2D)*

July 2: State Farm Stadium, Glendale, AZ (Winner QF1 v Winner QF2)
July 3: Nissan Stadium, Nashville, TN (Winner QF3 v Winner QF4)

July 7: Soldier Field, Chicago, IL
*Order of the matches subject to change

Taking place every two years, the Concacaf Gold Cup is the official national team championship of the region, which includes North and Central America and the Caribbean. Drawing large crowds and millions of television viewers across the region, the Gold Cup is a celebration of soccer, sportsmanship and culture.