The Must Know Traffic Laws of South Carolina

28

In South Carolina, there are laws that you must abide by to avoid a traffic citation. We’ve provided 10 specific South Carolina traffic laws that stand out.

Move Right Law

South Carolina law requires that you move to the right to allow for an unobstructed view of at least three feet on both sides. A violation is a class 1 misdemeanor and a fine of $250 and up to 15 days in jail.

Work Zone Law

In South Carolina, when you’re driving through a work zone, you must yield to any present worker. A violation is a class 1 misdemeanor and a fine of $250 and up to 15 days in jail. Furthermore, you can receive a fine of $500 and 2 points on your license.

Child Safety Seat Law

Children under the age of 8 must be secured in an adequate restraint appropriate for their height, age, and weight. Children between the ages of 4-7 may be issued a special permit by the DMV that allows them to ride in an adult front seat as long as an approved restraint secures them. 

Distracted Driving Law

This law prohibits using a wireless telecommunications device while operating a motor vehicle. The fine for a violation is $200. 

Golf Cart Law

In South Carolina, children under 18 must be secured in an appropriate child safety seat when operating a golf cart. Carts are exempt from having a safety belt on the back. Violation of this law is a class 1 misdemeanor and carries a fine of $250 and up to 15 days in jail.

Seat Belt Law

In South Carolina, you must wear a seat belt at all times when operating a motor vehicle. A violation is a class 1 misdemeanor and a fine of $250 and up to 15 days in jail. 

Moped Safety Law

In South Carolina, mopeds are only allowed on highways when subject to the same safety requirements as bicycles and motorcycles. In addition, the moped must have an upright seat, footrests, hand grips, heel prop, and a red reflector. Violations of this law are a class 1 misdemeanor and carry a fine of $250 and up to 15 days in jail.

Steer It or Clear It

You must either steer in a straight line or immediately and safely clear all lanes of traffic when driving on the left-hand side of the road. A violation is a class 1 misdemeanor and a fine of $250 and up to 15 days in jail. 

School Bus Law

When traveling in a school bus, you must use the same courtesy and safety precautions as you would be using when traveling in an emergency vehicle. Violation of this law is a class 1 misdemeanor and carries a fine of $250 and up to 15 days in jail.

Move Over Law

When you see flashing red and blue lights, you must move to the right lane, if possible. A violation is a class 1 misdemeanor and a fine of $250 and up to 15 days in jail.

In conclusion, these are just a few of the many South Carolina traffic laws. We hope you are aware of these laws and will use them to reduce your chances of receiving a ticket. 

 

Comments

comments