If you live or drive in South Carolina and you own a cell phone, you might be affected by a new bill that was just introduced by SC Representative Bill Taylor for some penalties for a dui offense.
The new bill would increase the current fine from $25 to $100 and up to $300 and 2 points off your license for a second offense if you’re caught holding your phone and either typing, sending, or reading texts.
“It really is the same, or worse offense, than drunk driving,” Taylor said. “So, let’s call it what it is.”
North Carolina’s penalty is already set at $100 but won’t take any points off your license.
The new SC would allow the use of Bluetooth functions and GPS mapping usage, as long as a driver’s hands don’t touch the screen while driving.
What do you think about the new bill?