North Carolina has just been ranked as one of the least renter-friendly state in America by the apartment search website RentCafe.com.
According to the report, they “compared and contrasted landlord-tenant laws in 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia. We focused on 10 common aspects of the landlord-tenant relationship, which include security deposits, rent increases, the warranty of habitability and eviction notices. We then created a ranking system based on the best and worst scenarios for renters and landlords (more on how we ranked the states in the Methodology section).”
- As one of the least renter-friendly states in the U.S., a renter in North Carolina could receive a 10-day termination notice for not paying the rent and an immediate termination notice for lease violation.
- Renters in North Carolina are not very lucky when it comes to getting their security deposit back either. The landlord has up to 30 days to return the money, while states like Vermont and Arizona, have a 14-day deadline.
Check the entire study and laws for all 50 states here.